Take the Challenges and Grow Up

User Rating:  / 2
PoorBest 

I was doing my final project for my bachelor degree analyzing the novel Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. Back in 2011, I was a student of university in Semarang, Indonesia. Living far away from my hometown and had a big responsibility finishing the last semester, the 8th semester. My parents have spent their money so far to fulfill my need in my study and my living cost there.

But I was about to give up...I had a confidence-crisis during my study in university. I was studying English Literature and I felt I was not into it. It was a difficult subject for me and I was about to give up...but I had no choice except to continue and try to finish it. But it was stressful for me...

I was a very passive person, inactive, and easy to give up. I was afraid of lots of things.

I was glad, however, during my study in English subject.. I knew an NGO for international voluntary service and I have learnt a lot practicing my English to the foreign volunteers. I felt comfortable in that organization as they led me to learn lots of things even though I felt I was not capable to do many things. With their trust, I could gain some more confidence and I pushed myself to do more and more. I become the camp leader for some workcamps in my country and I felt I have improved my English skill a lot. I also knew that the organization also send Indonesian volunteer abroad through LTV program. I wished...one day I could be sent away...one day...I wished to live in different country and experience lots of things. I wanted to do it.. I was about to apply one of the program...but I was in the last semester, and I should finish my study. Moreover, my mother said I had to finish my study first then I could go whenever I want...

Well, finally... there was something I was waiting for...I had a goal to fulfill my dream so I had more power to finish my final project. Yes!! I had to finish it soon!!!